Trains

Publié le par miss link

The slow rocking of the train is bringing my thoughts to a sweet place where they start to drift away. Into dreams, into nothingness. I like the train. I like being on my own on the train, from one place to another. Nothing to do but enjoy being transported from point A to point B. No need to strain my eyes trying to drive in the rain, in the sun, in the night, through the tiredness. I can let myself relax here. Some music on my ears, and I am truly alone for the journey. I don't hear my fellow passengers anymore, and if I see them, it's more entertaining than disturbing.

I take off my shoes, and use the seat in front of me to rest my feet.

I can look outside, enjoy the landscapes unrolling in front of my eyes, or look inside and stay in my cocoon. I can read, I can write.

Right now I can see a string of gray blue clouds through the left window, that look like a succession of camel backs, like a caravan in the sky. The train is slowing down, soon a station for sure. It's a slow train. It takes its time and visits all the stations on its way to Bordeaux. I could feel impatient, of course a TGV is much faster, or I can choose to enjoy taking my time too, feel through all the emotions that pass over me as each small station brings me closer to my home.

 



Un train, un dimanche midi. Un TER – je ne sais même pas à quoi le sigle correspond – est un train lent, qui dessert la plupart des gares sur le trajet choisi. En fait le train dans lequel je suis met à peu près autant de temps qu'une voiture à parcourir la distance entre Angoulême et Bordeaux. Mais il n'y a pas à conduire. Et pour aujourd'hui cela me convient parfaitement. Si je le voulais, je n'aurais même pas à penser. Je prends un siège au choix dans le train, de préférence dans le sens de la marche, et je me laisse bercer par le roulis entrecoupé de pauses aux arrêts en gare. J'ai besoin d'une journée calme. De retrouver l'endroit à l'intérieur de moi où tout est calme, où tout va bien. Et le train m'y aide, le train m'apaise, m'endort presque. Chaque nom bucolique de petite gare, que j'oublie dès l'arrêt passé, est comme un poème, comme une phrase dans le couplet d'une chanson. Les noms deviennent de plus en plus familiers, je reprends mes repères. Mon cerveau engourdi commence à se réveiller. On va bientôt arriver.

Publié dans Ecriture

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article