A birthday / Un anniversaire

Publié le par miss link

It's snowing when we get there. We have been driving for over two hours, and are getting hungry.
We drive down a scary slope full of snow and ice, and park beside the village hall where the party is going to be.
As I open the door of the car, I see him, my cousin's boyfriend.
Call him out, and he joins us beside the car. One hand in his pocket, a cigarette in the other, he looks like the cold is getting to him.
We take the essentials we'll be needing for lunch and the afternoon, and walk with him to the door of the village hall.
Lots of activity in there already. I catch my brother, it's his party and it doesn't look like he wants to cry (unless it's happiness that's moving him, of course)!
People are arriving, lots of people I know but haven't seen in such a long time I almost don't recognize them.
"Have we met already?" "Yes, at the house warming party", "Yes, but over 10 years ago", etc...
and sometimes "Er... No, I don't think so"
It's fun.
Family is there too, cousins from Switzerland, with their slow accent and cheery smile. It warms my heart to chat with so many people.
Soon the noise level reaches the unbearable limit though. Kids are running around like headless chicken, except they still have their head, and hence scream and shout on top of it. I don't think I have ever seen so many kids going beserk for so long. Looks like they never tire. Amazing.
On stage, people join my brother to make music together, drumming, playing the piano, the clarinet, the guitar, the bass, the violin. So much creative energy together.
A whole 24 hours pass, in the snow, with the fear of driving without winter tyres, and the joy of new and renewed encounters, and soon it's time to leave again. Again a rush of activities, bees going in and out of the hive, goodbyes, hugs, kisses and off we go.
What a weekend!


Il est assis à côté de moi. En fait il est assis sur ma chaise, mais j'en ai pris une autre pour rester à ma place.
Il me faisait peur à l'époque. C'était quelqu'un que je sentais dur, qui aimait trouver les failles des autres et s'y engouffrer avec malice et cynisme. Il était capable d'anéantir quelqu'un à coup d'arguments irrecevables moralement, mais tellement logiques qu'il était impossible d'y répondre. Je me rappelle l'avoir évité, m'être sentie toute petite avec lui.
Cela fait bien dix ans que je ne l'ai pas vu.
Il se tourne vers moi et je vois que quelque chose a changé dans son regard. Il y a là quelque chose de plus doux.
Je me rappelle les paroles de sa fille, comme quoi il a été malade et a frôlé la mort il y a un an.
On parle. Et surtout je parle. Il me pose des questions. Je le sens intéressé.
Vraiment. Pas en train d'essayer de me faire un croche-patte pour me regarder m'étaler de tout mon long en souriant.
Je me sens en confiance. Je raconte. Où j'en suis, comment j'ai évolué, pourquoi je suis là aujourd'hui et comment je vis. Il sourit, il me regarde. Je sens qu'il ne juge pas. Il sait que je parle avec intégrité. Je n'essaie pas de paraître, ou de lui raconter ce qu'il veut entendre. Je dis juste ce qui est. Et il entend.
Il a beaucoup changé.
Il me prend dans les bras quand je m'en vais, et me dis à quel point il a été ravi de parler avec moi. Il est sincère. Je suis touchée.

Publié dans Ecriture

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article